Northern Ireland has changed its rules relating to quarantine. From 10 July 2020 you may not have to self-isolate when you arrive in Northern Ireland, if you are returning from certain countries.

That is because these countries or territories are:

  • Exempted countries
  • British overseas territories

It is important to note that the list is continually under review and self-isolation requirements could be reintroduced at any time for public health reasons.

A list of exempted countries and territories is available HERE

This easing of the restriction will be welcome by businesses who need employees to travel for work as well as resolving some of the issues of what to do when employees travel abroad on holidays if the country is on the exempted list.

However, you will need to self-isolate if you were in, or if you transited through, a country that is not on the list in the 14 days before your return to the Common Travel Area.

This applies to all travel to Northern Ireland, by train, ferry, coach, air or any other route. It also applies regardless of how you have arrived in Northern Ireland – directly, via Ireland, or via another UK region.

In addition to country exemptions, individual exemptions will also apply.

It is, however, important to note that the exemptions do not apply if you have symptoms of coronavirus. Anyone who has symptoms of a cough, fever or loss of smell or taste must self-isolate.

List of Exempt Countries

List of Individual Exemptions